New Program Awards Squadron Members

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Wesley Jones
  • 117th Air Refueling Wing Public Affairs

The 117th Force Support Squadron recently adopted a new program designed to recognize more airmen for their hard work and efforts to support the air refueling mission.

The “Sustainment Flight Recognition Program” is made up of board members who interview nominees each quarter and select those who are most deserving of the awards.

The 117 FSS made their first round of selections during August Drill. Master Sgt. Derosha Swann of the Fatality Search and Recovery Team was named the Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Quarter. Technical Sgt. Adric Reed the FSRT Team Lead was named the Non-Commissioned Officer of the Quarter. Technical Sgt. Matthew Stambaugh was named the “Cook of the Quarter.” Airman First Class Desmond McWilliams was named the Airman of the Quarter.

Chief Master Sgt. Bryan White, the 117 FSS Superintendent, implemented this new program and it has been well-received so far.

“I think this is great for morale and it gives people something to look forward to,” said Swann. “You know it makes them feel a sense of accomplishment and getting recognized for what you do.”

This new effort is also unique in that the FSS is the only squadron on base participating.

“You know with this program, it’s different because we are actually competing against each other for these awards and it makes us train even harder,” said Reed.

The 117 FSS is comprised of all types of airmen with different goals and dreams and this initiative is helping to boost confidence and morale.